There are a lot of different settings that you can manage to control your profile’s privacy. If you choose to make your profile private, all settings will switch to “Friends only” or won’t change if they were set to a stricter setting, such as “Only me” or “Nobody”. You can make your profile public to a wider range of people at any time.
These new features will appear in the update for the mobile apps in the near future.
Once you make your profile private, anyone who visits your page and isn’t in your friends list will only be able to see a very small amount of information, such as a your first and last name, your profile picture, the number of posts on your wall (without being able to actually see them) as well as a list of mutual friends. A user’s status message, city, age, and places of work will also be visible if the user has provided that information.
All content that you have added to your page, including posts, photos, videos, music, stories and, subscriptions, will be automatically hidden when you make your page private.
For additional confidentiality, the list of people who have shared a particular post is now private. Only the post’s author would be able to see this list. And, if the post was published on a public page, then the managers of that community would be able to see it as well. Private profiles will be included in the general count, but the names won’t be visible in the list, even to the post’s author.
We are continuing to perfect our privacy settings and will soon write about new features. You can find more information about how you can protect your profile and your data in the Security community.